Log in

No account? Create an account
whitewater consciousness -- the journal fellow travellers itinerary meet your guide whitewater consciousness -- the website upstream upstream downstream downstream
when you don't know what to do...
do the next thing
wtf is this?
I just got this email to my essexleather.com account:

Dear Manager:

This is China Domain Name registrar, We have imporant thing confirm with you. We formally received an application on 3rd,Nov,2008, One person who named Mr. Chen ( www.icuxiao.com.cn) is applying to register " essexleather" as Internet Trademark and the .ASIA/.CN(like abc.asia/.cn/.com.cn/.net.cn/.org.cn) domain names in China to promote their company and do the promotion on the Google, Baidu and some famous search engine.

After our initial examination, we found that the Internet trademark and domain names applied for registration are the same with your company’s name and trademark. Two points need you to confirm: 1,whether this alleged Mr. Chen is your business partner or distributor in ASIA? 2, Whether your company need to remain the priority to register these CN names yourself?

If he is your company's partner , we will finish his application. If he is not, hope you can tell us your company's decision on this matter.

Looking forward to your reply.

Best regards!

Sunny Zhou,
China Domain Name Registrar:
ShiShun Ltd
Room 908,
Hua Heng International Building,
No.99 TaoWu road,NanTong City
Tel:+(86)0513-8011 8536
Fax:+(86)0513-8011 8539

Is this a scam?

i feel: confused confused

8 trips or shoot the rapids
From: kightp Date: November 5th, 2008 01:43 am (UTC) (base camp)

Your domain is safe. They're just trying to scam you into paying them money to re-register it with them.

I get one of those (not from the same outfit, but from China) ever few weeks on one of my domains.
tashabear From: tashabear Date: November 5th, 2008 01:44 am (UTC) (base camp)
Thanks! I trashed it.
panzier From: panzier Date: November 5th, 2008 01:43 am (UTC) (base camp)
Yep! scam, good eye,

Google parts of the message, such as the building or phone number.

Seems also affiliated with the lottery comission. I'd suggest not replying
tashabear From: tashabear Date: November 5th, 2008 01:45 am (UTC) (base camp)
Thank you, hon. *coldnoses*
From: (Anonymous) Date: November 6th, 2008 09:33 am (UTC) (base camp)
I got the same today, but since i actually have been registering a lot, I told them that that person's names is not affiliated. I got a mailer demon reply, not sure if they still got my original and mask with that, but your thread here has the only references to this slime, so lets post all their email address here:

mine came from: sunny@idregistry.cn

tashabear From: tashabear Date: November 6th, 2008 02:30 pm (UTC) (base camp)
Don't know who you are, but as this is my journal, not an open forum, I don't expect anyone to pipe up with anything, and if it starts, I will delete the comments. I don't want to clutter things up with that mess, and I'm not sure what purpose it would serve.
mrgrumpybear From: mrgrumpybear Date: November 5th, 2008 01:44 am (UTC) (base camp)
Google "chinese domain scam", "china domain scam", "cn domain scam"
tashabear From: tashabear Date: November 5th, 2008 01:46 am (UTC) (base camp)
Thanks, sweetie!!!
8 trips or shoot the rapids